Schedule – Biosciences in Cambridge

 Week 1


Saturday 6th August

Arrival at Heathrow, settle in to accommodation and contact home, meet all fellow students, social evening in accommodation


 Sunday 7th August

Orientation session in Cambridge, getting to know the town and visit to Kings College. River punting on the Cam, followed by traditional British Roast dinner


 Monday 8th August

Visit to Epping Field Centre on a Site of Special Scientific Interest
Lesson 1 – Cell and developmental biology
Free evening to relax and enjoy the social activities at accommodation


Tuesday 9th August

Free time in Cambridge
Lesson 2 – Disease
Applying to a UK University – personal statement, interview tips and understanding the application process


Wednesday 10th August

Tennis coaching
Lesson 3 – Ecology
Team Building Challenge: Students will be given a map and a series of questions to answer in the surrounding countryside of accommodation


Thursday 11th August

Group cycling trip in the countryside
Lesson 4 – Plants and people
Attend a show at the Cambridge Arts Theatre


Friday 12th August

Soccer Coaching

Lesson 5 – Adaptations to the environment
Formal dinner in Cambridge University Common room (formal dress encouraged)


 

Week 2

Saturday 13th August

London Tour including Hyde Park, Notting Hill, Buckingham Palace and other main sights. River Cruise along the Thames


 Sunday 14th August

Transport to Oxford to see town centre, University campus and Christchurch College. Visit to Bicester Village for outlet shopping. Cinema night in accommodation.


 Monday 15th August

Visit to Flatford Mill Field Centre for outdoor lesson on the River Stour


Tuesday 16th August

Art Sketching Class by the River Cam


 Wednesday 17th August

Visit to the magnificent Ely Cathedral, built in 693


Thursday 18th August

Visit to Shepreth Wildlife Park I


 Friday 19th August

Free time for souvenir shopping


 Saturday 20th August

Prepare for departure, transfer by coach to London Heathrow